How I Know I’m Still A New York City Newbie

It’s been awhile since I’ve packed a lunch. The last time was when I went on a road trip with my friend Molly to the mountains and rivers of Colorado this summer.

 

It was glorious. So were the turkey and veggie wraps we made.

 

This weekend, however, I scrambled to grab whatever I could from my fridge (think yogurt, fruit and the oh-so-basic peanut butter sandwich) so that I could eat a cheap meal and avoid purchasing something on the way to Philadelphia. As you know – or should have heard – New York City meals are not so friendly on the wallet.

 

In my haste to be frugal, I let some precious minutes slip away. Having then missed the express 2 train by seconds, I found myself at Penn Station with 4+ avenues to walk and only fifteen minutes (for the record, avenues are very, very long). I walk at a fairly fast clip normally, but armed with two heavy bags, I doubted my feet. Begrudgingly I raised my arm…

 

 

And hailed a cab.

 

So much for saving money. New York, I know you’re chuckling.

Leave a Reply

