Cider Doughnut Bread Pudding for the Soul

Have you ever heard of a guard llama?

How about a pet skunk? They aren’t allowed in New York State (with the exception of certain permits), but there’s an underground effort to justify the domestication with a therapy sort of role.

 

These aren’t the topics one would expect in a conversation among food bloggers and foodies (+ one wannabe foodie named Innae). Yet across breakfast pizza, cheddar biscuits and apple muffins with a date and garam masala crumble, I found my belly aching from gluttony and giggles.

 

We actually sat across from each other in the same room, not in a web conference.

That’s right, we sat across from each other in the same room, not in a web conference.

 

The reunion was unexpected. I reached out to Deanna Fox of Silly Goose Farm to follow up on a promise to visit her home, and the hostess-extraordinaire decided a full-fledged brunch was nothing short of necessary. Along came a few of my favorite food writers and lovers from the Capital Region, and I was giddy with anticipation for the delights that would soon be in front of me.

 

Case in point.

Case in point. Yes, that’s also homemade maple burnt sugar ice cream.

As I caught up with the ProFUSSor – whom I hadn’t seen since he and his wife left for her sabbatical over a year ago – we chatted about the merits and difficulties of a changing menu for local restaurants. Expected, right? Also discussed with Albany Jane, Albany John and the others: pregnancy, mining and honey badgers (I have now made plans to watch a documentary on these apathetic animals thanks to the recommendation of this marketing guru).

(she made this. stunning flavor profile)

(These are those aforementioned muffins. Stunning flavor profile)

 

 

There were also moments that morning where the laughter waited on the sidelines as these men and women listened to my journey thus far. They offered encouragement, advice and suggestions with such sincerity that my heart was just as full as my stomach.

 

As we’re all aware, the Internet is a connecting, yet isolating place. While I’ve carried conversations with these eaters online for some time, the in-person opportunities weren’t as frequent. A few minutes here, inbetween bites at a tasting there, and soon we’d have to finish up our trains of thought on Twitter.

 

Even with so little face-to-face contact, I felt fully comfortable. The words I had seen on a screen or in print were backed with the warmth of a voice. The delightful images I’d scrolled through were taken by hands that baked and cooked to delight my tastebuds. And now we’d created memories that would feed my heart.

5 thoughts on “Cider Doughnut Bread Pudding for the Soul

  1. I’m so thankful to have met friends like you, Innae! If it weren’t for the internet, my soul would be much emptier for the lack of fantastic individuals I’ve had the privilege of meeting.

  2. I agree with @albanyjane. My heart is so happy after reading this post. What a delight to have you all in my old, crumbling little farmhouse. Your pictures are amazing, and I might need to steal/credit them :). You are such a bright light, Innae, don’t dim it for anyone and keep on shining! xoxo. (Your invite to the farm has no expiration date, btw. Stop in/stay over anytime you’re in town.)

  3. It was great to see you again. I can’t even believe it had been over a year since we were last face to face. The internet really does have a way of helping soothe the passage of time.

    And I’m so glad that Deanna took the bull by the horns and got everyone together for brunch at the farm. The pudding… the pizza… what a party.

    Anyhow, here’s the book I was mentioning. Maybe when you see it, it will bring back a flood of Annenberg memories. If it doesn’t you should get it, read it, and then pass it along. It’s been a while since I last read Postman, but I remember it being outstanding.
    http://www.amazon.com/Amusing-Ourselves-Death-Discourse-Business/dp/014303653X/

Leave a Reply

